Brookline Stand Up


Hip Hop? Sounds Like Something A Rabbit Listens To!
March 11, 2010, 9:22 pm
Filed under: 50 Cent, Original Wanksta | Tags: ,

Hello blogosphere and welcome to…drumroll please…Brookline Stand Up’s inaugural post! If you are a hip hop enthusiast or are just kind of curious as to what hip hop music and culture is all about, you’ve come to the right place.

I am by no means, however, a hip hop expert. I grew up in a charming little suburb in upstate NY where I played classical violin for about 10 years and sang in my church youth choir, and now live right outside of Boston in Brookline, MA where I’m finishing up my senior year of college. It’s hard to say where my love for hip hop first took root…maybe it was when I thought it would be really cool to memorize all of the words to “Baby Got Back” in 6th grade, or maybe it was when my freshman year roommate and I nicknamed our dorm room “Gangsta’s Paradise.” (I still know all the words to Baby Got Back by the way, but who doesn’t?) Some way or another, I became the driver of that obnoxious car whizzing down the road with the 808 rattling my rearview mirror. I think my fellow drivers are quite surprised when they get to the stoplight and see a little blonde girl dancing and rapping along to the beat.

I created Brookline Stand Up to talk about the kind of hip hop I get down to with my patented dorky white girl dance moves. I hope to learn more about the hip hop genre and culture throughout this process, which means I want to hear from all of you out there. So please leave any input, new music, events or relevant news if you feel so moved.

As for those of you that are wondering what a “wankster” is, Urbandictionary describes it as “Someone that pretends to be a ganster and tries to talk in gangster language and wear gangster clothes when the really don’t know anything about being a gangster,” but I think 50 Cent describes it best in his aptly titled hit “Wanksta”…

(And for the record, I don’t wear gangster clothes, only talk in gangster language sometimes and am not a huge fan of Fitty.)

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Fifty is not even worth talking about. He is garbage. I’m pretty sure he was supposed to retire when Kanye outsold him…

Comment by Adam

Agreed. Not a fan.

Comment by lilwasp

“or maybe it was when my freshman year roommate and I nicknamed our dorm room “Gangsta’s Paradise.”

…it was DEFINITELY then that your ghetto side bloomed like a little daffodil turning into a grill-ed out ROSE.

I think you forgot to mention to the world that you created a ghetto video, dancing to this is why im hot in northface jackets and proceeded to post it on youtube. hahahah

(ps. this is my new fav blog!!!!)

Comment by Gangsta accomplice

Crookline projects stand up! Representing the 02446 holla!

Comment by J money




Leave a Reply

