Brookline Stand Up


Ode To Weezy F.
March 12, 2010, 9:16 am
Filed under: Lil Wayne, Loves It | Tags: ,

Before I blog any further, I just need to clear something up. I love Lil Wayne. I know, I know, his lyrics can be questionable at times and his voice sounds a little bit like a constipated baby, but I just cannot get enough of his music. That probably sounds like it’s supposed to be sarcastic, but I really mean it.

And I have every reason to hate him, too. A couple of years ago I paid out the ass for tickets to see him and Jay-Z co-headline a concert at TD Banknorth Garden in Boston (awesome, right?) Well, apparently Weezy was packing heat and refused to pass through the stadium’s metal detectors. Although tickets to a Jay-Z concert are NEVER a waste of money and Hov completely killed it, I was very disappointed that Weezy didn’t deem his fans important enough to leave his gats on the tour bus. I went through a short phase after that where I told everyone he and I were in a fight, but we never really broke up. Within a couple weeks I had his songs back on my workout playlist and everything was peachy keen.

I mean, come on. How can you not love a guy who has about 4 baby mommas and got his prison sentencing delayed because he needed eight hour surgery on his GRILL?? And while many would argue the opposite, I kind of love the fact that Lil Wayne has collaborated with everyone and their mom in the music industry. Obviously he’s had a few misses (I throw up in my mouth a little bit every time I think about the “rock” album he released) but the fact that he is constantly spewing out hits with the hottest artists in the business means that I always have new Wayne to listen to. I mean, I’ve listened to Britney Spears’ Circus about 800 times…it’s time for some new music, girlfriend. I never have that problem with Weezy.

I even have some Weezy on my iPod that I’ve never heard before. Okay, to be fair, I typed “Lil Wayne” into my iTunes Library and 249 tracks came up (not unhealthy guys….not unhealthy) but I’m trying to prove a point here. A couple weeks ago I had my iPod on shuffle during my insanely boring commute from my internship in downtown Boston and discovered this tasty little collaboration from Weezy, Fabolous and Juelz Santana:

You Ain’t Got Nuthin’ – Lil Wayne feat. Fabolous & Juelz Santana

(Weezy verse starts at about 3:20)

This video’s sound quality doesn’t do the song justice (the bass in particular) so I highly suggest you download it if you don’t have it already. But anyways, to sum up, in a completely non-sarcastic fashion: love that Weezy is a collabo-whore, love the constipated baby voice, love Weezy. I promise for all you haters out there that I won’t write about him too much but just thought I’d put it out there.

What do you think of Lil Wayne? Yay, nay or aight?

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This article is very interesting. I checked out the song that you stumbled upon: “You Ain’t Got Nuthin”. First of all, I must say that I really like the song. Especially the first two verses. Wayne’s verse really did not impress me. I listened to the song like 10 times. It’s catchy and growing on me, but as for Wayne’s verse lyrically and the chorus, it is pretty weak. Fabolous really impressed me with his lyrics, but Lil Wayne was just spitting our unimpressive lyrics. I think people like him because they can’t wait to hear what he is going to say next. He has a freestyle flow and people can’t get enough of him because at times he spits fire. It seems that his “fire” holds people captive waiting for his next moment of sickness. You can’t hate on him for making money and flaunting it — that is already prevalent throughout the culture. But this song is simply a force. If he’s going to be a self-impressed, boasting douchebag, the least he could do is put some more effort it. Spit some fire. I don’t hate the song, but I am unimpressed.

Comment by Adam

I agree with you, it is not Weezy’s best lyrically…Fabolous and Santana really shine on this one. I really love the beat though and I think the song as a whole is pretty solid. I’ve found that I’m most impressed with Weezy’s earlier tracks from like the early nineties. Have you heard his verse on “Loud Pipes?” It’s pretty sick.

Comment by lilwasp

woah woah WOAH. Get out the salad because those beats are FRESH!! Get it white girl find those tunes!
So who did that banner for your blog? because that shits tight enough to leave me feelin’ the rawness

Comment by Anonymous Fan of This Blog

He worked on Circus with Britney!?? I did not know that, haha. Awesome! 🙂

Comment by Dana Hentoff

Actually he didn’t haha..I was just using Britney as an example of an artist who releases a CD and then chills out for a while as opposed to Lil Wayne who is constantly coming out with new singles. He actually did collaborate with Britney on a song called “Bad Girl.” He’s barely featured on it but all in all it’s an amazing song..here’s the link in case you haven’t heard it yet: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6wjDw-vP_-U

Comment by lilwasp

[…] come as no surprise that I think that southern rap is the tits. I’ve already established that I am in a serious, long-term relationship with New Orleans’ Lil Wayne, and honestly who hasn’t heard of/doesn’t love T.I. and Ludacris from the ATL, so I […]

Pingback by Get Your Grits Ready « Brookline Stand Up

[…] such a long time. The last few shows I had attended had been either unpleasant in some way (aka the Weezy no-show) or flat out disasters (trust me, you don’t wanna know.) After this series of fails, I had […]

Pingback by The Preacher « Brookline Stand Up




Leave a Reply

