Brookline Stand Up


Hov, Is This About Something Else?
April 16, 2010, 6:46 pm
Filed under: Jay-Z, News

Jay-Z is suing David Ortiz of the Red Sox for naming his club in the Dominican Republic “Forty/Forty”…essentially the same name as Jay’s international 40/40 bar franchise. One of my favorite rappers vs. one of my favorite baseball players. Awkward.

vs.

Jay-Z obviously has every reason to take legal action. I mean, seriously Big Papi? You literally named your nightclub the SAME thing.  But I’m suspicious. It’s no secret that Jay-Z is a Yankees fan. Not only does he hail from Brooklyn, but he’s constantly pictured wearing Yankee’s hats, references the Yanks in many a song and has released numerous tracks touting his home state. I wonder if Jay-Z, as a Yankee fan, is secretly getting a kick out of suing one of Boston’s most beloved baseball players. I know I sure would enjoy watching Sox player Dustin Pedroia take a legal whack at the likes of Yankees hotshot Alex Rodriguez.

Maybe I’m letting my Red Sox fanhood take over, because when I’m being rational I realize Jay-Z probably would’ve sued anyone who stole his club name, Sox player or not. I’m just wondering if it would be quite as newsworthy if baseball loyalties weren’t involved. And I’d really like Jay-Z to admit that he’s kind of loving the fact that he’s suing a very well-known Red Sox player. Come on Hov, we’d all understand.

So my questions to you all are: Who do you think should win the case, do the baseball affiliations make it more interesting and is Jay secretly loving this or what? Let me know what you think.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

