Brookline Stand Up


Juvenile + Passion Pit = Surprisingly Ferocious
April 16, 2010, 9:15 pm
Filed under: Juvenile, Loves It, The Hood Internet

Looks like Brookline, MA-based alternative group Passion Pit is getting some street cred in the world of hip hop. I mentioned in an earlier post that hip hop group Chiddy Bang sampled from Passion Pit’s “Better Things” for their track “Truth.” Now here’s a sick mash-up of Pit’s “Sleepyhead” and Juvenile’s “Back That Azz Up.” I realize that neither of these tracks are actual collaborations, but way to rep for Brookline, Passion Pit.

Check out “Back That Sleepy Head Up” from mash-up duo The Hood Internet below.

Two songs that I dig separately and never would have imagined would sound so brilliant together. Genius. I had never heard of The Hood Internet before my friend sent me this tasty little gem. I was intrigued, so I checked out their last.fm page and blog and found that Chicago-based DJ ABX and DJ STV SLV regularly mash up hip-hop and indie tracks. I listened to a few more of their clips, and while “Back That Sleepy Head Up” is still my favorite by far, The Hood Internet is definitely worth an extra listen or two.

Check out The Hood Internet and let me know what you think of ’em. And, for that matter, mash-up artists in general…yay or nay?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

